7 out of 17 subcommittees of Accra 2023 inaugurated

7 out of 17 subcommittees of Accra 2023 inaugurated


7 out of  17 subcommittees that will support the LOC in organizing the 2023 African Games have been inaugurated on Thursday, November 25, 2021.

The African Games in 2023 will bring to, Accra, Ghana a total of fifty- five African nations, as well as about 8,000 athletes, technical officials and journalists.

The Minister of Youth & Sports, Hon Mustapha Ussif administered the oath of office and secrecy to members selected to serve on various Sub committees for the 2023 African Games at the Hathiramani hall of the Accra Sports Stadium.

He advised them on the need to effectively participate and collaborate to ensure Ghana organises not only the best African Games, but also a memorable event in the history of the Games.

He also urged them to give off their all to the service of our beloved motherland as they took oaths to serve on their various committees.

Dr. Kwaku Ofosu Asare, Executive Chairman of the LOC said the establishment of the LOC was a key requirement by the African Union Commission, the custodian of the African games adding that there are a total of 17 Sub Committees to be constituted and will be inaugurated in phases in due course.

He noted that work is ongoing at the Borteyman and University of Ghana Stadium in preparation of the games.

He explained that the construction of the facility at Borteyman is in three folds namely the Engineering aspect, procurement aspect and the construction of the facility itself adding that the contractor is currently on the engineering phase and expressed optimism that the construction of the facility will meet the timelines for the Games.

He entreated Ghanaians to own the event stressing that the games will become successful when Ghanaians fully give their support to the activities leading towards the event.

The Sub committees are:

Media and Communication- Chaired by Mr. Dan Kwaku Yeboah

Technical Sub- Committee, Chaired by Dr. Emmanuel Owusu ANSAH

Marketing and Sponsorship Sub committee Chaired by Mr. Reginald Laryea

Legal Sub committee Chaired by Ms Eva Okyere

Finance and Ticketing Chaired by Mr. Andy Sam

Legacy Sub- Committee Chaired by Dr. Bella Bello Bitugu

Medical and Anti- Doping Chaired by Dr. Mrs. Beatrice D. William

By Sammy Heywood Okine