Bouchra Elected CAVB President To Become First Female Boss For The Continental Confederation

Bouchra Elected CAVB President To Become First Female Boss For The Continental Confederation



Bouchra Hajij has been elected as the 5th President of CAVB-The African Volleyball Confederation at the Congress held online from 24th-26th October 2020, to become the first female president of the continental body.

 Hajij, who is also president of the Royal Moroccan Volleyball Federation, FIVB Executive vice president and CAVB Executive vice president and Board member, recorded 42 votes, with incumbent Dr Amr Elwani gathering 12 Votes.

Due to travel restrictions brought by the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 Congress was held through virtual conference lasting over 24-hours in 3-days, notably over 15-hours spent on day two before the new president was announced on Monday morning.

Bouchra, a former Moroccan international (1984 – 2002), now has until 2024 to transform Beach Volleyball and Volleyball (Indoor) in Africa before the next Elective Congress.

Bouchra Hajij became the first ever African woman to be elected as FIVB Board of Administration member in the FIVB Board elections in Buenos Aires, Argentina in 2016.

Bouchra has Masters in Communication and Marketing (ISCAE), Bachelor’s degree in experimental sciences and Diploma in Education from Ministry of Youth and Sports.

The online voting exercise was conducted by experts from FIVB led by Fabio Azevedo in association with the CAVB secretariat in Cairo.

54 delegates from the 54 CAVB affiliates attended the 3-days Virtual Conference via zoom and voted in the Congress.

Elwani served volleyball in Africa for 24-years including 19-years as president of the Confederation and FIVB Executive vice-president 

Elwani was the fourth CAVB President after Chazly Zouiten (Tunisia); Nacef Salim (Egypt) and Louhry Gui Gui (Cote D’Ivoire)

CAVB was formed in 1972 with its headquarters in Cairo, Egypt and has 54 member affiliates from across Africa.

2020-2024 CAVB Board of Administration



Bouhra Hajij – Morocco


Zone I: Adnan BAKBAK – Libya

Zone II: Rodrigues ANTONIO CARLOS – Cape Verde

Zone III: Casimir SAWADOGO – Burkina Faso

Zone IV: Dokony Adiker IDRISS – Chad

Zone V: Waithaka KIONI – Kenya

Zone VI: Fredreck NDLOVU – Zimbabwe


Habu GUMEL – Nigeria

Sanga Issouf KONE – Côte d’Ivoire

Daniel Koboa MOLAODI – Botswana


Agness Nakaonga KAKOMA – Zambia

Mpho PALIME – Lesotho


Zone I: Mustapha LEMOUCHI – Algeria

Zone II: Bai Dodou JALLOW – Gambia

Zone III: Paul ATCHOE – Ghana

Zone IV: Christian MATATA SHWITI – Congo

Zone V: Fernand Sauveur RUTERANA – Rwanda

Zone VI: Khalid CASSAM – Mozambique

Zone VII: Kayseeven TEEROOVENGADUM – Mauritius

From Sammy Heywood Okine