Andre Ayew takes SWAG Personality of the Year

Andre Ayew puts Ghana aheadGhana deputy captain Andre Ayew was crowned the Sports Personality of the Year by the Sports Writers Association of Ghana at the 41st MTN-SWAG Awards Night at the Banquet Hall last Saturday.

Ayew was awarded for his outstanding performances for the Black Stars in the 2015 AFCON and a very productive debut season for Swansea City in the Barclays Premier League that saw him score 12 times.

He beat his fellow national team mates Harrison Afful and Asamoah Gyan to the award.

Meanwhile, the female national team, the Black Queens, were named as the national team of the year for winning gold at the All Africa Games in Congo Brazzaville while their coach Yusif Basigi was the coach of the year.

Nadia Eke was named as the female athlete of the year and Richard Commey was the boxer of the year. Richard Seklorwu picked up the discovery of the year and AshGold captain Eric Opoku was the Premier League star f0r 2015. Below is the full list of award winners:

Special Awards to Police Women’s Hockey team (silver medalist, ACC)

The Special Awards to Eben Annang Whyte (development of table tennis)

The Special Awards to Black Stars captain Asamoah Gyan (sports philanthropist)

Special Award to coach David Duncan (For Winning the SWAG Cups three times)

Lifetime Achievement Award to Sophia Okulley (for women’s football development).

Special Award to Nana Ampomah for his dedication to the course of SWAG over the last 40years.

Dedication and Valour award goes to AsanteKotoko_SC star Stephen Oduro

Discovery of The Year- Richard Seklorwu gold medalist in long jump at the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa.

Discovery of The Year- Joseph Kuyon (silver medallist, World Children Taekwondo Culture Festival in South Korea)

Discovery of The Year – Joseph Tindan Kuyon

Female Judoka of The Year- Szandra Szogoli

Male Judoka of The Year- Emmanuel Nartey (All Africa Games 60kg bronze medalist)

Para-Athlete Award- Patrick Yaw Obeng (1,500 & 800 T54 category bronze medalist @ the AAG)

National Team of The Year- Black Queens (For their gold winning feat @ the AAG)

National Team of The Year- Golden Rackets (George Darko & W. Na-Adjrago- Gold medalist @ the AAG)

Male Hockey Player of The Year- Johnny Botsio (Black Sticks & Trustees player)

Hockey Player of The Year (F) – Nafisatu Umaru (MVP @ AHC in Zambia, League winner with Police)

Amateur Boxer of The Year- David Bawa (Heavyweight bronze medalist at the 2015 AAG).

Athlete of The Year (Male category) – John Ampomah (Javelin Silver medalist at AAG, 2 national records).

Athlete of The Year (Female category) -Nadia Eke (Triple Jump Bronze medalist at the 2015 AAG, national record holder).

Female Footballer of The Year – Portia Boakye

Coach of The Year- Yusif Basigi

Professional Boxer of The Year- Richard Commey

Premier League Star of The Year 2015 – Eric Opoku

Most Promising Star for 2015 – Joel Fameyeh.

Association Chairman of The Year – Frederick Otu Lartey (TAEKWONDO )

Table Tennis Stars of the Year- Felix Lartey, Bernard Joe Sam, Emmanuel Commey, Derrick Abrefa.