Rio 2016 scholarship holders nominated for SWAG Awards

Szandra SzogediTwo Rio 2016 scholarship holders David Koney Adjetey and Szandra Szogedi have been nominated for the Sports Writers of Association of Ghana Awards to be held on May 28.

Adjetey has been nominated for the Taekwondo Star of the Year award after winning silver in the 84kg at the 2015 All Africa Games in Congo-Brazzaville.

Szandra Szogedi has nominated for the Judo Star of the Year (female) for winning bronze in the -63kg at the 2015 All Africa Games.

The two were among 12 national athletes who were last year given Rio 2016 scholarships by the Ghana Olympic Committee to aid in their preparations for the Olympic Games.

The SWAG Awards will be held on 28th of May at the State Banquet Hall. The awards list is heavily dominated by athletes who represented Ghana and won medals at the 2015 All Africa Games in Congo-Brazzaville.

 Below is the full list of nominees for the awards:

Sports Personality of the Year
1. Andre Ayew
2. Asamoah Gyan
3. Yussif Basigi
4. Bashir Hayford

Footballer of the year (male)
1. Andre Ayew
2. Asamoah Gyan
3.Harrison Afful

Footballer of the year (Female)
1. Portia Boakye
2. Samira Suleman
3.Janet Egyiri

Premier League Star
1. ERIC Opoku
2. Kennedy Ashia
3. Richard Ofori

National Team of the Year
1. Black Queens
2. George Darko / Wisdom Narh Adjrago( Gold medalist
Coach of the Year
1. Yussif Basigri (Black queens/Hasaacas Ladies)
2. Bashir Hayford (Ashantigold )
3. Henry Quansah (Golden Rackets)

Pro Boxer of the Year
Richard Commey

Amateur Boxer of the Year
David Bawa ( Heavyweight Bronze Medalist all Africa games)

Athlete of the Year (Male)
John Ampomah (Javelin Silver medalist all Africa games, two national records)

Athlete of the Year (Female)

Nadia Eke (Bronze medalist all Africa games triple jump, new National record)

Para Athlete of the Year
Patrick yaw Obeng (1,500 &800 T54 category bronze Medalist )

Hockey player of the Year (male)
Johnny Botsio

Hockey Player of the Year (Female)
Nafisatu Umaru

Table Tennis star of the Year
Felix Lartey, Bernard Joesam, Emmanuel Commey, Derrick Abrefa ( All Africa Games team)

Judo Star of the year (Female)
Szandra Szogedi (All Africa games 63kg bronze)

Judo Star of the year (male)
Emmanuel Nartey (All Africa 60kg bronze)

Taekwondo Star of the Year
David Adjetey (84kg silver medalist)

Association Chairman of the year
Fredrick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo )

Discovery of the year (Joint)
Richard Seklorwu ( Long jump gold medalist, commonwealth youth games in Samoa)
Joseph Tindan Kuyon ( Silver medalist, World children Taekwondo Culture Festival in south Korea)
most Promising star
Joe Fameyeh (Asokwa Deportivo /Local Black Stars)

Dedication and Valour
Stephen Oduro (Asante Kotoko )

Life Time Achievement Award
Sophia Okulley (Women's Football )

C.K Gyamfi (Posthumous)

Special Awards
Asamoah Gyan ( Philanthropy )
Eben Annang Whyte (development of Table Tennis)
Police Women's Hockey Team ( Bronze Medalist, African Clubs Championship)