IOC Session Elects Three New Members

IOC Session Elects Three New Members


L-R: JOC President Yasuhiro Yamashita, ITF President David Haggerty, FIFA President Gianni Infantino and IOC President Thomas Bach. (Photo by IOC)

The 135th session of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) on Friday elected three new members following the proposal made by the IOC Executive Board (EB) on 5 December.

The three new Members are:

- Yasuhiro Yamashita, President of the Japanese Olympic Committee (JOC) (Male, 1957, Japan)

- David Haggerty, President of the International Tennis Federation (ITF) (Male, 1957, USA)

- Gianni Infantino, President of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) (Male, 1970, Switzerland)

The new members’ CVs can be found here.

Commenting on the election, IOC President Thomas Bach said: “Congratulations to our three new colleagues on their election. The IOC can now count on the valuable advice of these experienced personalities”.

All three candidatures are linked to a function within a National Olympic Committee (NOC) or an International Federation (IF).

After this election, the total number of IOC Members is now 101.

In line with Olympic Agenda 2020, all candidatures were studied and approved by the IOC Members Election Commission and the IOC Ethics Commission.