Black Meteors Striker Kwabena Owusu Makes List To Afcon 2019

Black Meteors Striker Kwabena Owusu Makes List To Afcon 2019

asamoah gyan and kwabena owusu

Hard working striker Kwabena Owusu of Leganes in Spain was named among the 23 squad of Ghana’s senior national football team for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations to be hosted by Egypt.

Owusu, the hard running striker of the Olympic Team (U23) was one of the players who had a surprise call up and selection, however, those who have been monitoring him believe he is a good choice to take over from the aging strikers.

Surprisingly missing from the list is the skipper of the Black Meteors, the Olympic team, Yaw Yeboah, the rising super star.

The Black Stars are in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) preparing for the 2019 Afcon.

On Sunday, the lost 1-0 to Namibia in a friendly match which coach Kwesi Appiah said was a good exercise for him to see the battle readiness on the players.

Ghana has not won the African Cup for the past 37 years, and many Ghanaians are not happy because Ghana is a Football Nation and when the Black Stars won their third trophy for keeps, Cameroun had not won once, but now the Indomitable Lions have won 5 times, Egypt has won 7 times and Ghana won 4.

Ghana has come very close, but hard it tough, sometimes luck is not on their side.

The Black Stars who are known for their quality brand of football and great skillful players have been in the best 4 in the last 8 editions of the Africa Cup of Nations.

Below is the final list that leaked out to the media in Ghana.

Black Stars final 23 for AFCON 2019


Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Lawrence Ati- Zigi (Sochaux, Montbeliard, France), and Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).


John Boye (Metz, France), Andy Yiadom (Reading, England, Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe A.S, Turkey), Kassim Nuhu, (Hoffeinham, Germany,) Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey)


Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionle, Italy), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland), Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew ( Fenerbache, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia),


Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor, Turkey and Kwabena Owusu (Leganes, Spain).

  • Note that Felix Annan of Kumasi Asante Kotoko is the only local player in the team.

By Sammy Heywood Okine