DPSI dominates 2018 National Youth Chess championship

DPSI dominates 2018 National Youth Chess championship

chess 2010 cup

Delhi Public School International (DPSI) dominated the 2018 National Youth Chess championship after clinching two gold, one silver and two bronze medals in a keen contest recently held in Accra.

The competition, which was organized by the Ghana Chess Association (GCA), took place at the Delhi Public School International (DPSI) auditorium and witnessed various schools competing in five different age categories.

This year's championship attracted a lot of enthusiasm and experienced a massive impact after recording 100 players from schools and Chess Clubs across the country.

The hosts dominated the championship by winning lots of trophies in all the five categories of the Championship.

chess 2018 champs

The under 10 category saw Rohit  Godhwani of DPSI walking home with the Gold trophy with Josiah Cox from Sprinforth Community School (SCS) and Kimathi Kuenyehia from Lincoln Community School (LCS) sneaking away with Silver and Bronze respectively. The Best girl in this category went to Aarna Bhavesh Tailor of DPSI.

In the under 12 category it was Alexis Rusquest from Lycée Français d'Accra who trolled away with the Gold trophy living Rohan Sharma of Ghana International School (GIS) and Joshan Shunjay of DPSI with Silver and Bronze respectively.

The Best girl for this category went to Millicent Sah of Maxflower Preparatory School (MPS).

Chorkor Basic International (CBI) made a mark at the under 14 category after John Allotey snatched the Gold trophy with Plyush Keshan of DPSI and Shabd Mathur of GIS picking Silver and Bronze.

chess 2018 who is who

Again DPSI won the best girl through Gaargi Behaveshkumar.

The master's of the day DPSI won their second Gold in the competition at the under 16 category with Larry Vandyke ensuring job done for the host. Isaac Norvi and Daniel Otoo of CBI clinched the Silver and Bronze respectively for the Accra based school.

The anticipated under 18 category lived up to expectation as the keenly contested battle witnessed Rohan Karamchandani and Naren Varyani both from GIS winning the gold and silver respectively while Malav Ashwin Daftary of DPSI walked home with a Bronze trophy.

In the Special Category, Dave Quansah (5years) from Jack and Jill International School emerged as the Youngest Boy while Falak Thawani (7years) DPSI won the youngest girl award in the tournament.

chess 2018 winners135

The Brilliancy game award of the tournament went to Tian Jie Gao of GIS.

The President of the GCA, Mr Philip Ameku acknowledged the level of interest in the game and rendered thanks to the Chairman of B5 Mr Mukesh Thakwani for his support towards the success of the tournament.